top of page
Learning sounds

Early Years Foundation Stage

Your child will follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. This sets the standards for the learning, development and care of your child. The things your child will learn at nursery have been organised into three prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal and Social Development

and four specific areas of learning

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


In the EYFS, play is a very important part of your child’s development and most learning will be introduced through a mixture of carefully planned opportunities for play and some adult-led focused activities. There will also be opportunities for your child to choose activities that appeal to them, following their own particular interests.

Hackney leaflet
bottom of page